Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Champion of champions

The wait is over now. Champions Trophy is starting from today. This time South Africa are hosting the tournament. This is the 6th edition of Champions Trophy, 8 top teams will play against each other. Best thing is that this time the minnows haven't been included. All the 8 teams can compete with each other. So, this is the real test of the champions. These 8 teams are divided into two groups - Group “A” & Group “B”. Australia, India, Pakistan and West Indies are in Group “A” & South Africa, Sri Lanka, England and New Zealand are in Group “B”. The top two teams from both the groups will go into semi-finals. South Africa will take on Sri Lanka in the opening match of the Champions Trophy 2009.


Champions Trophy will surely prove the importance of ODIs. It will decide the future of 50-over cricket. Australia, India and South Africa are the top contenders to win the trophy this time. But other teams are also good. So, anything can happen. It will be a great fun. Australia, India and South Africa will also fight for the top slot in the ICC ODI rankings.

This is not the first time that South Africa are hosting an ICC tournament. South Africa have hosted the 2003 World Cup & the first World T20 in 2007. Co-incidence is that India performed well in both the tournaments, as you know India were the runner-ups in the 2003 World cup & they were the winner of the first World T20.

So, lets enjoy the tournament. It will be full of excitement and passion where Champions will fight against Champions. Lets see who is going to be the Champion of Champions……

(Image via Cricketnext)


Post a Comment