Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Team India's Magic Continues

Team India’s magic continues in Sri Lanka. They have done it again. It was a perfect final match, where India won the title by 46 runs. Sachin Tendulkar scored a magnificent 138, which is his 44th ODI century. He has proved it again that he is the God of cricket and what an occasion he chose to score a hundred, one of his best innings for sure. Also, thanks to Harbhajan, who took 5 wickets. It was really a thrilling final match.


Team India won the toss and decided to bat first. Rahul Dravid (39), captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (56) and Yuvraj Singh (56) batted around Sachin to set up a mammoth target for the hosts. Indian Team scored 319/5 from their 50 overs. It was undoubtedly a tough task for any team, anywhere in the world.

Sri Lanka had only one way to chase it down and they responded brilliantly. They got off to a blazing start. Openers Tilakaratne Dilshan bludgeoned Ishant Sharma for five boundaries in his first two overs. Later, he even scooped RP Singh over the keeper’s head for four. Sanath Jayasuriya, who was little circumspect at the start, later joined the party. The duo scored at a very good pace, they put 64 runs in just eight overs. The chase was on. Indian pace attack failed to stop them. And then the turbanator  Bhajji came to bowl and it worked for India. The off-spinner beat Dilshan by flight and turn and bowled him. After that, Jaywardene also went to pavilion  Indian spinners did a great job. Every time Dhoni made a bowling change, it produced a wicket.

Sri Lanka lost their l5 wickets for 131. Then Captain Sangakkara and Kandamby batted sensibly. Sangakarra (33) got out in a bizarre fashion; the bat slipped out of his hands and crashed into the stumps. Sri Lanka were 182 for 6, then Kapugedra joined Kandamby. Instead of giving up, they counter attacked the Indian bowlers. At that time, there were some anxious moments for team India and their fans like me. It looked like that Sri Lanka will win the match. Then Raina got rid of Kapugedra. They put up a partnership of 70 runs for the 7th wicket. Sri Lanka were 252-7 from 43 overs, Soon Sri Lanka lost their all remaining wickets and the whole Team got bowled out for 273. Kandamby was the highest scorer for Sri Lanka with his brilliant 66. India won the Finals by 46 runs.

Sachin Tendulkar bagged the Man of the Match & Man of the series awards. He proved it again that age isn't a problem for him. It was India’s third successive series victory in Sri Lanka in the last one year.

(Images via Cricketnext)


Post a Comment